fbpx
 
Fauna & flora

Here, the land and sea abound in a highly diverse array of species, including whales, moose, salmon and the Atlantic lobster.

Visiting Unamen Shipu means observing extraordinary animals and contemplating timeless, often uninhabited landscapes.

The following information comes from the Nametauinnu site, a repository of Innu elders’ traditional knowledge.

Forests

The Côte-Nord includes two zones of vegetation (the sub-arctic forest and the boreal forest) and two significant climates, (the sub-arctic climate and the humid continental climate). The forest cover is composed of dense populations of conifers, particularly white spruce (Picea glauca), black spruce (Picea mariana), balsam fir (Abies balsamea) and tamarack (Larix laricina). Hardwood species are more plentiful in the southern part, and paper birch (Betula papyrifera), quaking aspen (Populus tremuloides) and balsam poplar (Populus balsamifera) as well as coniferous species: white pine (Pinus strobe), red pine (Pinus resinosa) and jack pine (Pinus banksiana).

In outcrop zones, the mosaic of soil and rock often presents a carpet of varied vegetation, dominated by lichen, bushes and herbaceous plants. At summer’s end, a few edible fruits are ripe for the picking. In addition to the popular blueberries, wild strawberries and raspberries, one can find black crowberries, lingonberries (or red berries), creeping snowberries, juniper berries and cloudberries.

Fauna

The Côte-Nord fauna is typical of the boreal forest. Three species of big game, moose, black bear and caribou, are found there. Anticosti Island’s plentiful red deer were introduced only in 1896-97. Moose and black bear are more or less equally distributed over the entire territory. The density of the moose population tends to increase in sectors of regeneration that have been affected by fire.

The black bear, that ultimate omnivore, lives in dense forest but is frequently found in waterfront areas or clearings where wild berries such as lingonberries or blueberries grow.

Once plentiful, caribou is now rare in the southern part of the Côte-Nord. It is found mostly near peat bogs rich in lichen. From West to East, small herds can be found close to the eastern shore of what is now Pipmuacan Reservoir in the sectors of Lac DionneMount Saint-Pancrace and the Manic V Reservoir north of Baie-Comeau. Sparse herds are found north of Sept-Îles, although the sectors of Lakes FournierMuleVital and Wacouno show a somewhat greater concentration of individuals in winter. North of Mingan (up to the Labrador border) and in the Basse-Côte-Nord, caribou are also present here and there in small concentrations. They are not present on Anticosti Island.

In winter, part of the barren-ground caribou herd from George River (which flows into Ungava Bay), whose population is estimated at several hundred thousand, travels over the northern sector of the region, sometimes even reaching the Fermont region at the southern extremes of its migration.

Small fauna is well represented. The snowshoe hare is present, as well as the lynx, its most important predator. The spruce grouse lives in clearings and edges in the coniferous forest, and in sectors ravaged by fire. The ruffled grouse (partridge) is confined to the South near the coast, whereas the red grouse and the rock ptarmigan are present in the North during their winter migration southward.

There are many varieties of furry animals. The presence of beaver, muskrats, river otters and mink is noted in and near aquatic environments. The elusive wolf frequents the forest and open areas. The woodchuck, red fox and striped skunk, which have benefited from forestry and agricultural occupation for the last two centuries, prefer open or semi-open spaces such as clearings, sparse forests, river valleys or lakeshores. Finally, the porcupine, red fox and northern flying squirrel can be found in resinous and mixed forests.

The wolverine, extremely rare today, is confined to the extreme north of the forested area. The pine marten and fisher marten are present in rather small numbers, primarily in northern resinous forests. Occasionally, the fisher marten frequents brush forests and waterfronts. Finally, the ermine and least weasel occupy diverse habitats, particularly those frequented by voles, which make up their menu.

Interior Aquatic Fauna

More than 20 species of fish have been inventoried on the Côte-Nord territory. The most plentiful of these species are the salmonidae, among which brook trout are the most widespread. Landlocked salmon, lake char, arctic char, northern pike, burbot, longnose sucker, white sucker and lake whitefish are also found there. Brook trout, yellow perch, and walleye are found in smaller numbers in the region’s south. Some species such as salmon and sea trout only visit the Côte-Nord‘s rivers and lakes during certain periods of their life cycle.

Aviary Fauna

The region surrounding the estuary and the Gulf of Saint Lawrence is characterized by a plentiful and diverse aviary fauna. Several migratory birds stop over in spring and fall. In addition, several species of marine, coastal, or shore birds nest in these sectors during the summer, and many stay in ice-free zones over the winter.

Among the most common species of wild birds are the American black duck, the common goldeneye, the common merganser, the green-winged teal, the American scoter, the common eider and the oldsquaw. The Canada goose stops over in the coastal marshes from the end of April till mid-May, nesting quite regularly in the region’s north.

The Maritime Environment

The Côte-Nord is bordered by the maritime estuary (from Saguenay to Pointe-des-Monts), and by the gulf, more than 100 km wide between Moisie and Mont-Saint-Pierre. The 350-meter-deep estuary allows a mass of dense water (33-34 % salinity, 2 to 5 °C), to enter, surmounted by the Labrador current, which enters by the Belle-Isle strait (32-33% salinity, -1 à 2 °C). Facing the Saguenay, these waters collide with the back end of the Laurentian Channel and mix on the surface with the freshwater from the Côte-Nord’s rivers.

Marine Mammals

There are five main species of seal in the Gulf of Saint Lawrence. However two, the hooded and ringed seals, are observed only occasionally. The harp seal abounds in the Gulf but it only lives there a small part of the year. It can sometimes be found in the estuary during winter or early spring, when the females of the species gather by the hundreds off the Magdalen Islands to mate and calve (in March).

The grey and common seals are uniformly distributed along the coast of the Haute-Côte-Nord. The grey seal is a predator of cod, plaice and salmon. Gregarious, it can be found in groups or open rock faces and islands. It breeds in winter (January-February) on the ice or rocky islands. Present in the Gulf year-round, it frequents the estuary’s shores, especially in summer.

The common seal is a year-round resident of the estuary. Smaller, it too eats salmon and cod, but also tommy-cod, lamprey and clams. At times, it may pursue its prey by following certain large rivers upstream. In herds, it frequents certain beaches, coves and capes. Mating takes place between late July and early September, whereas the seals calve in May and June on capes, reefs and sandbars.

A total of 18 species of Cetaceans (whales, dolphins and porpoises) frequent the waters of the marine estuary and the Gulf of Saint Lawrence. The estuary is inhabited mainly by belugas, great blue whales, fin whales, minke whales, long-finned pilot whales, Atlantic white-sided dolphins and harbour porpoises. The section of the Laurentian Channel between Les Escoumins and Tadoussac is the most popular because of its strong surface plankton production, caused by the entry of salt water at the mouth of the Saguenay. The northern part of the Gulf is visited by the small, common, blue, and humpback whales, as well as by the Atlantic white-sided dolphin and rarely, the killer whale.

fbpx
 
Faune & flore

Nous sommes ici dans une Terre et une mer d’abondance avec des espèces et des essences très variées allant des baleines aux orignaux en passant par le saumon et le homard de l’Atlantique.

Visiter Unamen Shipu c’est observer des animaux et des paysages hors du commun, souvent inhabités comme cela est depuis des temps immémoriaux.

Les données suivantes proviennent du site Nametauinnu, répertoire des connaissances traditionnelles des ainés innus.

Les forêts

La Côte-Nord compte deux zones de végétation (la forêt subarctique et la forêt boréale) et deux climats importants (le climat subarctique et le climat continental humide). Le couvert forestier se compose de peuplements denses de conifères, surtout d’épinettes blanches (Picea glauca), d’épinettes noires (Picea mariana), de sapins baumiers (Abies balsamea) et de mélèzes laricins (Larix laricina). Les feuillus sont plus nombreux dans la partie sud; on y trouve le bouleau à papier (Betula papyrifera), le peuplier faux-tremble (Populus tremuloides) et le peuplier baumier (Populus balsamifera) ainsi que des conifères : pin blanc (Pinus strobus), pin rouge (Pinus resinosa) et pin gris (Pinus banksiana).

Dans les zones d’affleurements, la mosaïque de sols et de roches présente souvent un tapis végétal varié, où prédominent lichens, arbustes et plantes herbacées. à la fin de l’été, quelques fruits comestibles sont prêts à être cueillis. En plus des populaires bleuets, fraises des champs et framboises, on retrouve la camarine noire, l’airelle vigne-d’Ida (ou graine rouge), le petit thé, les baies de genièvre et la ronce petit-mûrier (ou chicoutai).

La faune terrestre

La faune de la Côte-Nord est typique de la forêt boréale. On y retrouve trois espèces de gros gibiers, soit l’orignal, l’ours noir et le caribou. Le cerf de Virginie qu’on retrouve en abondance sur l’île d’Anticosti n’a été introduit qu’en 1896-97. Les deux premiers jouissent d’une répartition assez égale sur l’ensemble du territoire. En ce qui concerne l’orignal, la densité a tendance à augmenter dans les secteurs de régénération, c’est-à-dire ceux ayant été touchés par des incendies.

L’ours noir, omnivore par excellence, habite les boisés denses mais fréquente régulièrement les abords des cours d’eau ainsi que les clairières où poussent de petits fruits sauvages tels que les graines rouges (airelles vigne-d’Ida) et les bleuets.

Jadis abondant, le caribou est désormais rare dans le sud de la Côte-Nord. On le rencontre surtout aux abords des tourbières riches en lichen. De l’ouest à l’est du territoire, on en retrouve de petits troupeaux près de la rive est de ce qui est aujourd’hui le réservoir Pipmuacan, dans les secteurs du lac Dionne, du mont Saint-Pancrace et du réservoir Manic V au nord de Baie-Comeau; au nord de Sept-Îles, on en retrouve quelques troupeaux épars bien que les secteurs des lacs Fournier, Mule, Vital et Wacouno montrent une concentration un peu plus forte d’individus en hiver. Au nord de Mingan (jusqu’à la frontière du Labrador) ainsi que sur la Basse-Côte-Nord, le caribou est également présent de façon éparse et en petite concentration. Il est absent de l’île d’Anticosti.

En hiver, une partie du troupeau de caribou de la toundra de la rivière George (qui se déverse dans la baie d’Ungava), dont la population est estimée à plusieurs centaines de milliers d’individus, parcourt le secteur nordique de la région, atteignant même parfois la région de Fermont, dans sa limite sud de migration.

La petite faune est bien représentée. On retrouve le lièvre d’Amérique et le lynx, son plus grand prédateur. Le tétra des savanes occupe les clairières et la lisière de la forêt coniférienne, ainsi que les secteurs ravagés par les incendies de forêt. La gélinotte huppée (perdrix) est confinée à la partie sud près de la côte, alors que le lagopède des saules et le lagopède des rochers sont présents dans le nord de la région lors de la migration d’hiver vers le sud.

Les animaux à fourrures sont variés. On note la présence du castor, du rat musqué, de la loutre de rivière et du vison dans et près des milieux aquatiques. Le loup, fugace, fréquente la forêt et les aires ouvertes. La marmotte commune, le renard roux et la mouffette rayée, à qui la coupe forestière et l’occupation agricole des deux derniers siècles ont profité, affectionnent les espaces découverts ou semi-découverts comme la clairière, la forêt clairsemée, les vallées de rivières et les rives des lacs. Enfin, le porc-épic, l’écureuil roux et le grand polatouche (écureuil volant) se retrouvent en forêt résineuse et mixte.

Le carcajou, aujourd’hui d’une extrême rareté, est confiné à l’extrême nord de la région boisée. La marte d’Amérique et le pékan sont surtout présents au nord de la forêt résineuse et ce en quantité assez restreinte. Ce dernier fréquente à l’occasion les forêts de repousses ainsi que les abords des cours d’eau. Enfin, l’hermine et la belette pygmée occupent divers habitats, surtout ceux fréquentés par les campagnols composant leur menu.

La faune aquatique intérieure

Plus de vingt espèces de poissons ont été inventoriées sur le territoire nord-côtier. Parmi ces espèces, les salmonidés sont les poissons les plus abondants, l’omble de fontaine (ou truite mouchetée) étant la plus répandue de celles-ci. On y retrouve de plus la ouananiche, le touladi, l’omble chevalier, le grand brochet, la lotte, les meuniers rouges et noirs et le grand corégone. L’omble chevalier (ou truite rouge), la perchaude et le doré se retrouvent en moindre quantité dans le sud de la région. Certaines espèces comme le saumon et l’omble de fontaine anadrome (truite de mer) ne fréquentent les rivières et les lacs de la Côte-Nord qu’à certains moments de leur cycle vital.

La faune aviaire

La région de l’estuaire et du golfe Saint-Laurent est caractérisée par une faune aviaire aussi abondante que diversifiée. Plusieurs oiseaux migrateurs y font escale au printemps et à l’automne. De plus, plusieurs espèces d’oiseaux marins, côtiers ou de rivage nichent dans ces secteurs durant la saison estivale, et un grand nombre d’entre eux séjournent dans les zones qui restent libres de glace au cours de l’hiver.

Parmi les espèces les plus communes de sauvagine se retrouvent le canard noir, le garrot commun, le grand bec-scie, la sarcelle à ailes vertes, la macreuse à bec jaune, l’eider à duvet et le canard kakawi. La bernache du Canada (outarde) s’arrête dans les marais côtiers de la fin avril à la mi-mai, et elle niche assez communément dans le nord de la région.

Le milieu maritime

La Côte est bordée par l’estuaire maritime (du Saguenay à Pointe-des-Monts), puis par le golfe, large de plus de 100 km entre Moisie et Mont-Saint-Pierre. L’estuaire, profond de 350 mètres, permet l’entrée d’une masse d’eau dense (33-34 % de salinité, 2 à 5 °C), surmontée par le courant du Labrador, entrant par le détroit de Belle-Isle (32-33% de salinité, -1 à 2 °C). Face au Saguenay, ces eaux heurtent le contrefort du chenal laurentien et se mélangent en surface aux eaux douces des rivières nord-côtières.

Les mammifères marins

On rencontre principalement cinq espèces de phoques dans le golfe Saint-Laurent. Toutefois, deux d’entre elles, le phoque à capuchon et le phoque annelé, ne sont observées qu’occasionnellement. Le phoque du Groenland est abondant dans le golfe mais il y réside très peu de temps durant l’année. On le rencontre à l’occasion dans l’estuaire durant l’hiver ou au début du printemps, alors que les femelles de cette espèce se regroupent par centaines au large des Iles-de-la-Madeleine pour mettre bas (en mars).

Les phoques gris et communs sont distribués uniformément sur le littoral de la Haute-Côte-Nord. Le premier exerce sa prédation sur la morue, la plie et le saumon. Grégaire, on le retrouve en bandes sur les rochers découverts et les îles. Il s’accouple et met bas en hiver (janvier-février) sur le glace ou les îlots rocheux. Présent dans le golfe à l’année, il fréquente les côtes de l’estuaire surtout au cours de l’été.

Le phoque commun réside dans l’estuaire à l’année. Plus petit, il se nourrit également de saumon et de morue mais aussi de poulamon, de lamproies et de palourdes. D’ailleurs, il lui arrive de poursuivre ses proies en remontant certaines grandes rivières. Il fréquente en troupe certaines plages, anses et caps. L’accouplement a lieu entre la fin juillet et le début de septembre alors que la mise bas s’effectue en mai et juin sur des caps, récifs et barres de sable.

Un total de 18 espèces de cétacés (baleines, dauphins et marsouins) fréquentent les eaux de l’estuaire marin et du golfe Saint-Laurent. L’estuaire est surtout fréquenté par le béluga, le grand rorqual bleu, le rorqual commun, le petit rorqual, le globycéphale noir ainsi que le dauphin à flancs blancs et le marsouin commun (pourcil). Le secteur du chenal laurentien situé entre Les Escoumins et Tadoussac est le plus fréquenté en raison de la forte production planctonique de surface provoquée par la remontée des eaux salées à l’embouchure du Saguenay. La partie nord du golfe est visitée par le petit rorqual, le rorqual commun, bleu et à bosse ainsi que par le dauphin à flancs blancs et plus rarement l’épaulard.